Introduction

During my maths undergrad degree, I did no Statistics, only Probability. This led to a few conversations with medics who were horrified I made it through my degree without knowing what a p-value is. I’m now a year into a Statistics research postgrad. I know what a p-value is, even if I’d rather never use one.

This blog will contain occasional ramblings on Statistics. I’ll try and make it as jargon-free as I can. That might fall down once I have to explain what a density function is. For those familiar with Statistics, be aware that my lack of undergrad training in it has resulted in my coming into it from the Bayesian viewpoint, and my knowledge of classical methodology is extremely limited.

The first post will be a simple overview of what my research area, Monte Carlo methods, is all about.

Leave a Reply

